#Spokane in Film: Recent Dialogue Mentioning the Lilac City

The Monroe Street Bridge seen from the Post Street Bridge.

We’ve had movies filmed in Spokane, but this is not what this blog entry is about. Last week I brought you recent publications that mention the City of Spokane. Here’s a list of films that mention Spokane. I had to use Subzin for my quote search because IMDB only had three selections defined as the most popular. Subzin apparently searches movie subtitles.

Common Themes: Travel. Again.

Blue State (2007)
Director: Marshall Lewy
Starring: Breckin Meyer & Anna Paquin

“No, the hair, the whole thing was just for this trip and I was never a gym teacher. That’s what my dad does. Just drive me back to Spokane, and I’ll take the bus home or something. This was a stupid idea, anyway.”

Knockaround Guys (2001)
Directors: Brian Koppelman & David Levien
Starring: Barry Pepper & Andy Davoli

“Listen, I got us an opportunity, Marbles. You need to fIy to Spokane. FeIts FieId. There’ll be a guy there named Georgie Yarkus. He’ll hand you a bat. Don’t look in the bag.”

Little Nikita (1988)
Director: Richard Benjamin
Starring: Sidney Poitier & River Phoenix

“Richard and Elizabeth Grant entered this country through Canada. Took their lDs off headstones in the Spokane Cemetery. Three years later you were born. Wanna see your birth certificate?”

Shoot to Kill (1988)
Director: Roger Spottiswoode
Starring: Sidney Poitier & Tom Berenger

“Book me on the next flight to Spokane. And while I’m in the air, figure out a way to get me to Bishop’s Falls.”

Slap Shot 2: Breaking the Ice (2002)
Director: Steve Boyum
Starring: Stephen Baldwin & Jessica Steen

“(woman) Something tragic happened today at the celebrity auction in Spokane.”

The Changeling (1980)
Director: Peter Medak
Starring: George C. Scott & Trish Van Devere

“I want you to radio back to police headquarters… Captain DeWitt. Ask him to call me in Spokane – this number.”

White Men Can’t Jump (1992)
Director: Ron Shelton
Starring: Wesley Snipes & Woody Harrelson

“This is Jeopardy! Entering the studio are our contestants: an English teacher from Spokane, Washington, Dr. Leonard Allen.”

Captain America: The First Avenger (2011)
Director: Joe Johnston
Starring: Chris Evans & Hayley Atwell

“Carry the flag shore to shore for America, from Hoboken to Spokane, the Star Spangled Man with a Plan!”

This mention is featured in the USO song, “The Star Spangled Man with a Plan”.

Fast Company (1979)
Director: David Cronenberg
Starring: William Smith & Claudia Jennings

“Oh, I don’t know. I’m on the road somewhere, on my way to Spokane.”

Network (1976)
Director: Sidney Lumet
Starring: Faye Dunaway & William Holden

“I’ve got a guru from Spokane and two more hell fires who see visions of the Virgin Mary.”

Did anyone ever stop to think what kind of guru she was talking about?

Flashback (1990)
Director: Franco Amurri
Starring: Dennis Hopper & Kiefer Sutherland

“You want to know why, Mr. Walker? Because from here to Spokane, you and I are joined at the hip. You do what I say when I say it. You don’t even take a piss without me watching. If you try to escape, I’m authorized to stop you any way I see fit. Do I make myself clear?”

Smoke Signals (1998)
Director: Chris Eyre
Starring: Adam Beach & Evan Adams

“I had this dream, you know? And this dream told me to go to Spokane to stand by the falls. You know those ones by the Y.M.C.A. So I walked there.”

Don’t tell these guys that the YMCA is no longer next to the falls.

About blushresponse

online web producer, photographer, radio host and producer, social media enthusiast, occasional blogger and newbie bicyclist who had their bike stolen. #FAIL

Leave a Reply

