Of Breaking News and Getting Fit

Holy schmoly! There was breaking news down the street from me, but let me talk about something else to preface.

I got my “FitBit” device in the mail. It’s like a pedometer, but fancier. I got it to help out with the KXLY Fit Club, a bunch of teams made up of news, sales, production, etc, to see how much weight we can lose as a group.

It tracks my calories burned, steps taken, level of activity and tracks how well I sleep. The sleep graph also tells me that starting around 7 a.m., the natives become restless and start pawing at my face – or suckling on my ear. Eww.

In an effort to walk more, I took this opportunity after reading @SpokaneFire‘s tweet to see what was up a couple blocks away.

At first I tried to run. After a few steps I gave up and transitioned into power walking. I could see tons of lights flashing down the street. When we got closer, there were no “crashed” vehicles. Just a bunch of neighbors who came outside to see what happened outside their home. One woman said she heard a scream. Another said a guy ran off. There was a lot of speculation, but not a lot of solid information. Spokane Police say it could be a possible assault.

Read More: Police investigating possible South Hill assault

I waited until the scene began to clear so I could talk to an Officer. They didn’t know much. Hopefully a press release will come out. That’s pretty much all we can rely on at this point.

In case you didn’t know, it’s cold outside, so we power walked home. I was stoked to refresh my Fitbit data because I wanted to see how much activity I accomplished for the day with that last minute exercise addition.

Thanks to afternoon antiquing and breaking news, as of 10:37 p.m. I took 7,040 steps, traveled 3.03 miles and burned 2,185 calories.

I only ate 1,412 calories and according to my weight loss plan, I could still eat another 638 calories and be in my okay range. I said to Mike, “This means I can eat more! Yay!”

I don’t think that’s how it works, but a girl can dream, right?

About blushresponse

online web producer, photographer, radio host and producer, social media enthusiast, occasional blogger and newbie bicyclist who had their bike stolen. #FAIL

Leave a Reply

