Do You Party Like a Journalist?

Sometimes I like to fancy myself a real journalist, but then my obsession with writing cat-related stories says otherwise. My response? Cats are the future. Or at least a few million years in the future if you go with the Doctor Who universe of catkind on New Earth.

Television News: Left to Right - The Anchor Man, The Anchor Lady & The Weather Man

Mike points out that if I have to start out my blog entry by saying, “Sometimes I like to fancy myself a real journalist”, – really says otherwise.

Am I? I found a checklist. Let’s go through it and find out together.

1. Written a 15-inch story in 30 minutes

Doesn’t apply. I work in television news/web which has its own set of rules – or no rules at all. It’s like the Wild West out there.

2. Corrected a loved one’s grammar in a greeting card

Nope.

3. Replaced one of the major food groups with coffee

I keep my own Trader Joe’s creamer hidden in the communal refrigerator.

4. Own your own police scanner

I asked for one for Christmas, but didn’t get it – but I did receive a radiation detector. You can actually listen to a menagerie of scanners via the iPhone app, 5-0 Radio.

5. Eat in your car more often than you do at a table

I try not to make the news vehicles messy, so I avoid this at all costs. I do see the remnants of meals left by previous drivers.

6. Gotten fired/laid off for no good reason

Not in news – yet.

7. Forgotten what it’s like to have the weekend off

Uh oh. I work Monday-Friday

8. Can no longer read a newspaper without scanning for typos and errors

Print content? Not so much. Web content? All the time.

9. Learned that being told to “fuck off “ and “go to hell” is part of the job

Surprisingly enough – no one has told me this yet.

10. Woke in a cold sweat thinking you forgot to change the date on A1.

I have jumped out of bed in the middle of the night realizing that I wrote something wrong or I forgot to change something.
11. Spend your down time coming up with the perfect lede

“Breaking Mews” was a 15-minute meme in the newsroom.

12. Slept in your car and not because you were too drunk to drive home

Why would I go out when I have a fine selection of cherry vodka and root beer liqueur in the cabinet? Also, check out the hashtag: #partylikeajournalist

13. Found that fine line between harassment and persistence.

Call once. Call twice. Email. Call three times, leave a message. Call four times. Knock on their door.

14. If you needed bail, the first person you would call would be your editor.

If only I had such a thing in television.

15. You analyze city council meetings the way sportscasters break down Monday night football.

Things Joe Shogan Says and George McGrath

16. You think it’s normal to work 16 hours a day for 8 hours pay

Election Night!

17. Have conducted a phone interview while completely naked

No comment.

18. Can write an entire interview on a cocktail napkin.

Sometimes I write them on the back of receipts.

19. Threatened to quit over an editorial decision.

Dude. Spokane is apparently #1 for the worst hiring outlook for 2012.

20. You couldn’t imagine doing anything else
Sometimes I think I can, but then I realize that cat stories are AWESOME.

Source: Stuff Journalists Like – Checklist For Being a Real Journalist

The list was generated by mostly print-oriented journalists. I attempted to search for a similar television-esque/web checklist to refer to, but gave up because the cat wouldn’t stop licking my fingers while I was typing. Don’t ask.

About blushresponse

online web producer, photographer, radio host and producer, social media enthusiast, occasional blogger and newbie bicyclist who had their bike stolen. #FAIL

Leave a Reply

