Holidays, the Time of Year I Relapse Playing RPGs

For some time now, I’ve been playing Skyrim, a RPG game for people who live reality by day and a fantasy world by night. Sometimes I’m able to break the bonds of obsession by clicking ALT+TAB and checking the tweets. The ambient noise from the game continues. 

Mike turned to me one evening to say, “Turn that game off.” I simply told him I like the ambient noise of rushing wind and blizzards on mountain tops while dragons roar in far off distances.

He then told me if I’m such a fan of that ambient noise, why don’t I just go outside and become an adventurer.

Woah.

You mean, I could go outside and become a sword-slinger and sneak past guards into sewers and dungeons to make my way into keeps, manors and barracks?

This reminds me of a book called “Magic Kingdom for Sale – SOLD!” by Terry Brooks, a 1986 novel. A depressed lawyer escapes his life by buying a magical kingdom for $1 million out of a Christmas catalogue. Good book.

Moral of the story. When I hit ALT+TAB, I find myself checking out the tweets and immersing myself in Google Documents where story ideas for the week start rushing into my head and what’s this? A blog entry?

Woah.

This time last year, I was fully immersed in Fallout: New Vegas and Fallout 3.

About blushresponse

online web producer, photographer, radio host and producer, social media enthusiast, occasional blogger and newbie bicyclist who had their bike stolen. #FAIL

Leave a Reply

