Tossed Egg Salad and Scrambled Emotions

Perhaps there’s a limit to how much you can complain to something that is already working. Or not.

I recalled the time that I would often visit a downtown Spokane grocery for their egg salad sandwiches. Little known fact, that is my favorite kind of sandwich.

The filling was quite delightful, topped off with a single slice of lettuce. There was the right amount of mustard, mayo and egg that made a buttery mess in my mouth. There was one little thing I couldn’t help but be upset over.

The bread would crumble in my hands. It wasn’t a bad bread. It was a hearty local bread made from the finest of organic grains, but it couldn’t save the fact that it would crumble in my hands making an egg salad mess everywhere.

Doing my customer duty, I complained. I explained to the deli attendant that the bread, though tasty, couldn’t sustain the delightful filling of the egg salad. I recommended another bread. Softer with a strong bond. They took note and I went on my merry way.

Upon returning, expecting the most amazing egg salad of my entire life, I found nothing. They simply pulled the sandwich and I never saw it again.

Deep down I knew it was all my fault.

About blushresponse

online web producer, photographer, radio host and producer, social media enthusiast, occasional blogger and newbie bicyclist who had their bike stolen. #FAIL

One response to “Tossed Egg Salad and Scrambled Emotions”

  1. Phillip Hocking (@phillhocking) says :

    wow, i guess that’s just how the cookie (sandwich) crumbles. many times in life i have experienced the dilemma of when it’s good, it’s great – when it’s bad, you’re all alone.

    perhaps you should request to speak with the person in charge of the deli and ask for the sandwich back?

Leave a Reply

