We’re Going to Florida

Photo Credit: NASA/Tony Gray and Tom Farrar (Edited with Picnik)

On June 1st, I applied for the #NASATweetup with for #STS135. It was a long shot. I’m not the only space geek in the world jonesin’ for a spot next to the big countdown clock to see the final space shuttle launch with my own eyes. 5,500 applied. June 10th came around. Rejection. I didn’t lose hope. There were hundreds, maybe thousands of NASA groupies out there who were in my boat. We wanted another option. I got wind of the #EndlessBBQ and #SVPTweetup. Hope was not loss. I wanted to go. Even if I wasn’t a part of the official tweetup, there were still options.

I needed a travel buddy. I turned to this guy… His name is Mike… He’s kind of cool… I asked him if he wanted to go to a bbq. He said yes. I asked him if he wanted to go to Florida for the final shuttle launch. He said yes. Then we made a blog. This is what happens when two nerds get together. He does the code, I do the content. It’s a beautiful thing. We’ve got our plane tickets and we’re now finalizing our housing situation.

We have a travel blog specifically for this adventure. Please add it to your RSS reader or however you keep up with your morning readings. We’ll be posting space shuttle and travel related information. It’s hosted on Tumblr, but comments are available. I don’t know what else to say, except that… I’m stoked. This is a once in a lifetime opportunity and after years of making up excuses, I’m finally doing it.

Cross your fingers that they don’t scrap the launch.

About blushresponse

online web producer, photographer, radio host and producer, social media enthusiast, occasional blogger and newbie bicyclist who had their bike stolen. #FAIL

2 responses to “We’re Going to Florida”

  1. Neoteotihuacan says :

    Where can I get some info about this #EndlessBBQ ? Can anyone who was rejected by #STS135 attend?

    • blushresponse says :

      Anyone that was rejected by the official NASA tweetup can attend. EndlessBBQ is still being formulated. I’d follow the hashtag for more updates. I think there’s a Facebook event. Also follow @SVPTweetup for more information on that. I’ll be fronting their photography and other visual media presence.

Leave a Reply

