Spaghetti is a Dish of Fate

Who puts St. Patrick’s Day on a weekday? Honestly! The day after is a day to recover. I’m recovering, but for different reasons. There’s something about a two and a half hour job interview that really just takes the energy from you.  I couldn’t make it out to the KYRS Block Party as planned, but from what I hear via the Facebook News Feed and the Twittersphere, there were a lot of top-notch performances from local bands. One band I swear I will see one day even if it kills me, is The City We Live In. I would invite them on Save the Moon, but the guys live all across Washington St. Having them gathered in one place at the same time is rare indeed.

Last night was a weird experience. It was around 9:00 p.m. and I wanted spaghetti. Everywhere on the South Hill stops serving food at 10:00 p.m., so I wasn’t going to waste my time rushing to some random restaurant just to have some strung out cook in the back scrape out the remains of the afternoon’s batch of spaghetti. If you want it done right, you do it yourself.

That brought me to Albertson’s. I was buying supplies for two batches of spaghetti. Lately I’ve been using ground turkey in the place of ground beef. I can’t tell the difference when it’s all mixed up in my food. I highly recommend it. A man lines up behind me. Lo, and behold, it’s Verne Windham from KPBX buying laundry detergent. It was fate. It had to be! I dropped my wallet, he picked it up  for me and then immediately started scolding me for making spaghetti on St. Patrick’s Day. In some cultures, I believe they call that teasing! What a Spokane treasure, that Verne is!

I went home and made the best spaghetti of my life. While watching the sauce simmer, I reflected back to my conversation with Verne. We’re in the check-out line chatting. He asks me how I was doing, what I was up to, if I had any new opportunities in my life. I replied, “Well Verne, I just accepted a position at KXLY today as their new Web Producer.”

About blushresponse

online web producer, photographer, radio host and producer, social media enthusiast, occasional blogger and newbie bicyclist who had their bike stolen. #FAIL

Leave a Reply

