Last Minute Preparation for First Friday

Saturday, I committed myself to a very stressful second half of January. I have eighteen days to prepare myself for the February First Friday to show my photography at Nectar Tasting Room. I’m excited, I’m scared, I’m nervous. This is a last-minute opportunity that I wanted too much to just let go zooming by. Being artistic is something I’ve never used to describe myself. Creative, yes. Artistic is something completely different. I don’t even know how to define it. Every step of the way I’m going to repeatedly tell myself, “I can do this.” But first, I need your help.

According to Flickr, I’ve uploaded over 2,300 photos. I know I’ve taken more than that because my picture count on my camera passed the 8,000 marker for the second time. The cycle count for most Canon’s is 100,000. That means I have some time to go before my 40D kicks the bucket. Out of the 2,300+ photos, I’ve chosen 49 photos that I like and I think would look interesting on canvas (my choice of printing this time around).

When you look at the following gallery think of the following things:

1. Would you buy this? (Even if you don’t buy art due to lack of funds, pretend you have more money than God.)

2. Would you hang it in your home? (Living room, bedroom, kitchen, bathroom…)

Next, pick five photos that you would answer yes to based on those two questions. Feel free to comment below with your thoughts! Thank you so much and wish me luck.

Tags:

About blushresponse

online web producer, photographer, radio host and producer, social media enthusiast, occasional blogger and newbie bicyclist who had their bike stolen. #FAIL

9 responses to “Last Minute Preparation for First Friday”

  1. Michelle says :

    2, 11, 19, 18, and 44.

    Best of luck!

  2. Monika says :

    8, 26, 30, 38, 46 =)

  3. Captain_Phil says :

    5 – B-17’s kick so much butt

    11 – I’ve always like the dystopia images

    24 – the long and not so winding road. love it

    2 – love that kind of urban art

    36 – just like the whole feel the image gives

  4. Hank says :

    8, 12, 18, 37 and 47

    Good luck!

  5. Amanda Emily says :

    My choices would be 5, 7, 16, 24, 47

    Good luck!

  6. Alex Mueller says :

    Congrats on this opportunity! I love all your photos, but some of my favorites are (in no particular order):
    23, 3, 22, 20, 13, 47

  7. Kelly says :

    in no order. 41, 5, 40, 11, 23

  8. Sara Habein says :

    10, 11 (this one might be my favorite — I’d hang it in a heartbeat), 20, 29, 30 and 46 are the ones that immediately jump out at me. The cookie monster one makes me giggle a bit — but I do that when anything is “peeking.”

    A suggestion? I wouldn’t drop the cash on canvas wraps. I don’t know how well the work will sell — which is NOT a comment on your work’s quality at all, but more the buying habits of the First Friday/art-viewing populace. Maybe that’s changed as of late, but with possibly poor weather mixed with it being not long after Christmas, I don’t know that I’d spend a lot of extra money unless you are fine with having these photos hanging around OR you plan on giving the unsold ones as nice gifts later. Just my 2 cents, having helped Tyson out with a few shows.

    But congrats all the same! How exciting. I’m not familiar with Nectar. Is it new since I’ve moved?

  9. Barb Chamberlain says :

    18, 26, 32, 35, 38, and one involving a bicycle that I’m sure you meant to have in the selection :D. I like the ones that have a Zen feeling to them.

    barb

Leave a Reply

