Adventures in Bicycling

Yesterday, I changed my Twitter profile to say the following: “social media enthusiast, photographer, local news hound, radio host and producer, occasional blogger, newbie bicyclist. Woah there. Newbie Bicyclist? Oh yes, my friend. Now that the weather is nice and I live in a close proximity to town, I can ride my bike to wherever I please. This weekend was the ultimate experiment in my newly founded commuting tool. Plus, it was Earth Day/Weekend/Week!

Friday:
Total Miles: 1.4
Total Time: 30 minutes

Calories Burned: 263 (via CaloriesPerHour)

Summary: I got a taste of how much I dislike S. Monroe from 7th to 9th. I also got a taste of way too many cookies while visiting Tom Dineen and his lady.

Saturday:
Total Miles: 3.2
Total Time: 1 hour

Calories Burned: 526 (via CaloriesPerHour)

Summary: I really got a taste of how much I despise S. Monroe because I literally dragged myself up it from 4th to 9th. I also got a taste of a veggie dog for the first time. Don’t worry. I’m not converting to vegetarianism. Sometimes, I like to see how the other half lives. Not too bad, but I like to keep my options open.

Sunday:
Total Miles: 3.2
Total Time: 1 hour

Calories Burned: 526 (via CaloriesPerHour)

Summary: I learned my lesson that riding my bike across town is not the safest. Traveling up S. Stevens is the best flow for bicycling plus the uphill incline is not as steep as N. Monroe’s evil twin. Plus this allowed me to take a water break at Tom’s humble abode.

All in all, I consider this a successful weekend in the whole scheme of things. My precious Toyota Matrix never once left it’s garage. In fact, by riding my bike I saved $0.99 (via MPGBuddy). The golden number of this weekend though is that I burned 1,315 calories.

Tags:

About blushresponse

online web producer, photographer, radio host and producer, social media enthusiast, occasional blogger and newbie bicyclist who had their bike stolen. #FAIL

Leave a Reply

