Nicole’s Stir Fry

I had the opportunity to cook for my parents and sister. This was a rare occasion that only happens once in a blue moon. It probably helped that my mother just got out of the hospital again leaving the position open and ripe for the taking. On Tuesday, I’m to make orange chicken for the family. By my father’s request of course. I’ll let you know how that goes.

This is a very simple recipe. You can add whatever you like. This forms the building blocks for a still very good stir-fry with the possibilities of becoming a complex and even more so, delightful experience. If you try this stir fry, let me know what additions you make to it!

Ingredients:

Marinade:

  • Soy Sauce
  • Mongolian Fire Oil
  • Brown Sugar
  • Red Pepper Flakes
  • Sesame Oil
  • Pepper
  • Stir Fry:

  • Chicken (I prefer boneless, skinless chicken thighs and drumsticks)
  • Celery (3 sticks)
  • Bean Sprouts (handful)
  • Carrots (2 large carrots)
  • Red Pepper (1)
  • Garlic (2 cloves)
  • Ginger (1/2 tablespoon)
  • 1. I like to cut the meat into small pieces and place it into a bowl. Then I add the soy sauce and fill until it barely reaches the top of the chicken. I then sprinkle the Mongolian oil as I see fit. From there I add in a tablespoon or so of sesame oil and a spoonful of brown sugar, red pepper flakes (my father insisted I add these) and pepper (to taste). Stir it around well and let it marinate for 2-3 hours.

    2. Drain the liquid from your meat. Place it in a strainer and let it drip into a bowl for a good amount of time. Dry meat is good meat.

    3. This is a good time to start chopping those veggies. I like my vegetables cut in huge chunks instead of wimpy little pieces. As I like to say, the bigger the better. Once your vegetables are cut, DRY THEM! There should be no residual liquid. Put the veggies in a bowl and put them to the side for now.

    4. Start your rice! I use jasmine rice. To cook a cup, simply wash out the rice until the water is clear and not milky. Place the rice in the pot. Make sure the rice is level and place the tip of your finger on top of the rice. Pour in water until the water reaches your first knuckle. Bring to boil and then turn to low til done!

    5. Add your oil of choice to heat in your pan or wok. A wok is preferred. Heat it. Add the ginger and garlic almost immediately after heating. Toss in your meat and cook throughly.

    6. It’s time for the best part… Throwing in that beautiful and colorful selection of healthy vegetables. I like them slightly crunchy but still soft. This means cooking for less time. While I’m tossing them around in the wok, I add in a little more soy sauce for taste. It doesn’t really need a lot because the chicken should have a lot of flavor. At some random, but short amount of time, I call it done. You can say its done when you want it to be done.

    7. Serve over rice.

    Tags:

    About blushresponse

    online web producer, photographer, radio host and producer, social media enthusiast, occasional blogger and newbie bicyclist who had their bike stolen. #FAIL

    Leave a Reply

