#Spokane in Text: Recent Publications Mentioning the Lilac City

Spokane seen from the rooftop of the Bank of American Financial Center

I’m procrastinating going to the gym so of course I’m searching for references of “Spokane” in recent publications on Google Books. It’s more than you think. I searched for 21st Century publications with the keyword of Spokane and I’ve found 66,700 results. It’s 2:05 p.m. and I figure I can delay another hour by picking out the more interesting selections and curating them here.

Common themes you’ll find. Traveling. Typically traveling from or through Spokane.  Mike says, “Sweetie, Spokane is not a destination.”

The Little Shadows
Marina Endicott

“East had tried to find Mayhew when they hit Spokane, but apparently he had no stayed in the city more than a month before he’d lit out for parts south with a dancer called Estella, or Elvira, and even in the small pond of vaudeville, nobody had heard of him since.”

Who doesn’t want to leave Spokane with a vaudeville dancer?

Border Junkies: Addiction and Survival on the Streets of Juárez and El Paso
Scott Comar, Howard Campbell

“…Joe told me that he had a road trip planned and that he intended to bring me along. He also mentioned taking an old road hand named Ronnie. The trip involved an airline flight to Spokane, Washington, where we would pick up a tractor-trailer, drive it to Montana, load it full of household goods, and drive it to Texas.”

When they say household goods, I’m pretty sure that means residential burglary.

Lean on Pete: A Novel
Willy Vlautin

“I’m not sure why he wanted to leave Spokane. I told him I didn’t want to go, I begged him that I didn’t want to go, but he said he’d rather go to prison and get the shit kicked out of him every day than spend any more time in a dump like Spokane.”

If only I had a nickel every time I heard that said about Spokane.

FDR, Dewey and the Election of 1944
David M. Jordan

“When he met the press in Spokane, Dewey’s major theme was that Roosevelt and the New Deal had neglected the West. He said he was pledged to its “limitless development” and promised to appoint a cabinet member from the West.”

I wonder what news outlet he said that to.

I’ll Get By: The Best of Harry Marlin, Volume 1
Harry Marlin

“I have never lived in Spokane, but I assume that the temperature was not a problem. I have been told that it is possible to leave a quart of Blue Bell ice cream on the coffee table for days there, and it never melts. It may get wet, but it doesn’t melt.”

Not this season.

Once There Were Castles: Lost Mansions and Estates of the Twin Cities
Larry Millett

“Nettleton moved in 1883 to Spokane, Washington (where he fell to his death from a railroad bridge under rather mysterious circumstances in 1905)…”

Keyword: Mysterious Circumstances

Driving Home: An American Journey
Jonathan Raban

Spokane, on the hinge between the plain and the Rocky Mountains, was a dense five-minute metropolis, and it was already gone before I made up my mind to stop for it.”

I repeat: If only I had a nickel every time I heard that said about Spokane.

A Montana Homecoming
Allison Leigh

“He’d been there, wearing his jeans and that ridiculous Experience Spokane! t-shirt she’d found in the gift shop for him. Except, the shirt hadn’t looked at all ridiculous with the way it clung to his broad shoulders.”

No joke. This is a romance novel about a choir.

Rebels in Paradise: The Los Angeles Art Scene and the 1960s
Hunter Drohojowska-Philp

“I used to sit in the barn and milk the cows and look out through the barn doors and see the aura of the lights above Spokane, which was some forty miles distant, and know that people were not milking cows in Spokane.”

But they’re raising chickens!

Il gusto segreto del cioccolato amaro
Kevin A. Milne

“Il parente piu vicino di Tim e la madre, una donna di nome Lucy McDonald. Vive dall’altra parte dello Stato, vicino al confine con l’Idaho, in un sobborgo di Spokane che si chiama Millwood. Qui c’e l’indirizzo.”

What.

About blushresponse

online web producer, photographer, radio host and producer, social media enthusiast, occasional blogger and newbie bicyclist who had their bike stolen. #FAIL

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

